$500 for ALA Annual Conference

Ron Peterson reterso at ocean.otr.usm.edu
Wed Oct 11 10:18:36 EDT 2000

Please excuse any duplication, this message is being cross-posted to
several lists.


ALA's New Members Round Table is accepting applications for the Shirley
Olofson Memorial Award. All current members of ALA/NMRT are encouraged
to apply.  The Shirley Olofson Memorial Award is presented annually in
honor of Shirley

Olofson, a well-respected former NMRT President, who died during her
term in office. The award, which is intended to help defray costs to
attend the ALA Annual Conference, will be presented in the form of a
check for $500 at the NMRT President's Program during the 2001 Annual
Conference in San Francisco. Applicants must be members of ALA and NMRT;
active within the library profession; show promise or activity in the
area of professional development; have valid financial need; and have
attended no more than five ALA annual conferences. The recipient of the
Shirley Olofson Memorial Award is required to attend at least one NMRT
Executive Board meeting during ALA's Annual Conference, as well as the
President's Program at which this award is presented. The deadline for
applications is December 1, 2000.

Application forms are now available from:

or contact:
Ron Peterson
Shirley Olofson Award Committee Chair
Cook Library Box 5053
University of Southern Mississippi
Hattiesburg, MS 39406

Phone: (601)266-6172
Fax:   (601)266-6033
Email: Ronald.Peterson at usm.edu

More information about the Web4lib mailing list